Get Connected with Washington County DBD

Law Enforcement & Safety

In 2004, Washington County was ranked as having the 15th lowest crime rate in the nation (of metropolitan areas with a population between 55,000 to 200,000).

In 2010, the National Safety Council’s Safe Communities America welcomed Hagerstown, MD, into the International Safe Community network. This designation recognizes the community’s efforts in addressing the leading safety concerns facing its residents and business owners. Hagerstown is the twelfth community in the United States and the first in Maryland to become an International Safe Community. For more information, please visit

Law Enforcement

City of Hagerstown - 1 Chief of Police, 98 sworn officers, including 2 community based police officers, and 4 school resource police officers.

Washington County - 1 Sheriff, 94 sworn deputies, including 17 judicial deputies at Washington County Circuit Court, 1 community deputy for Sharpsburg/Keedysville, 1 community deputies for Williamsport, and 3 school resource deputies.

State of Maryland - 41 state police officers.

Boonsboro - 1 Chief of Police, 3 full-time police officers.

Hancock - 1 Police Chief, 1 full-time and 2 part-time police officers.

Smithsburg - 1 Police Chief, 3 full-time police officers.

Fire & Rescue

City of Hagerstown - 6 fire stations with paid full-time firefighters

Washington County - 16 volunteer fire stations, and 8 emergency medical service companies

100 W Washington St., Suite 1401
Hagerstown, MD 21740
Driving Directions


Fill out our contact form